Kedah (Malay pronunciation: [kəˈdɑh]),[3] also known by its honorific Darul Aman or “Abode of Safety”,[4] is a state of Malaysia, located in the northwestern part of Peninsular Malaysia. The state covers a total area of over 9,000 km2, and it consists of the mainland and the Langkawi islands. The mainland has a relatively flat terrain, which is used to grow rice, while Langkawi is an archipelago, most of which are uninhabited islands.